top of page

Adelaide City FC



Twitter:     @AdelaideCityFC



Adelaide City FC was formed in 1946 by an expatriate group of Italian migrants and took the name of Italian football club, Juventus. The clubs' initial attempt to don the famous black and white stripes of Juventus were thwarted when the local football federation ruled that there could only be one black and white team per league and the black and white of Port Adelaide took precedence. So it was that the newly formed Juventus wore a navy blue strip with a white “J” before finally being permitted to wear black and white stripes from 1949.


It was only a short 7 year wait for the club to enjoy its first real success when the first of many League Championships arrived in 1953. This was followed by an additional 5 titles before the end of the 1950’s including an unprecedented 4 in-a-row between 1956 and 1959. An additional 3 League Championships were won in the 1960’s and 3 more titles were won in the 1970’s up to 1976.


In 1977 Adelaide City became a foundation member of Australia’s first truly national sporting club competition, the National Soccer League (NSL). Whilst the club remained a front runner and developed a reputation for playing an attractive brand of football it was not until 1986 that the first of 3 NSL titles arrived. The first NSL success arrived under steely faced coach Zoran Matic whose tactical nous would lead Adelaide City to further NSL Championship successes in 1992 and 1994.


With the collapse of the NSL imminent, Adelaide City withdrew from the NSL in 2004 and focused on the rebuilding of the club and its home base at Oakden in South Australia. In 2004 Australian football legend Damian Mori returned to the club and was appointed player-coach. After a season of consolidation in 2004, normal service was resumed in 2005 with the winning of the S.A. Premier League Championship, and was followed up with Premierships in 2006, 2007 and 2008 as well as Championships in 2008 and 2010.


Adelaide City now competes in the National Premier Leagues South Australia.

Qualification Route


Adelaide City qualified for the 2014 FFA Cup by winning the Statewide Coca-Cola Federation Cup, defeating West Adelaide 4-1 in the final.


In reaching the FFA Cup Round of 32, Adelaide City defeated Raiders 4-1, Adelaide Blue Eagles 4-1, Metrostars 5-4 in a penalty shootout after a 1-1 draw, Croydon Kings 3-1, and finally West Adelaide 4-1. 


South Australia's FFA Cup Qualification Pathway


Club Honours


  • 1953 – SA Super League Champions, Federation Cup Winners

  • 1954 – SA Super League Champions

  • 1955 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 1956 – SA Super League Champions

  • 1957 – SA Super League Champions, Federation Cup Winners

  • 1958 – SA Super League Champions, Federation Cup Winners

  • 1959 – SA Super League Champions, Federation Cup Winners

  • 1963 – SA Super League Champions, Federation Cup Winners

  • 1964 – SA Super League Champions

  • 1965 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 1967 – SA Super League Champions

  • 1969 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 1970 – SA Super League Champions, Federation Cup Winners

  • 1971 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 1972 – SA Super League Champions, Federation Cup Winners

  • 1973 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 1974 – SA Super League Champions

  • 1976 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 1979 – NSL Cup Winners

  • 1986 – National Soccer League Champions

  • 1989 – NSL Cup Winners

  • 1991/92 – National Soccer League Champions, NSL Cup Winners

  • 1993/94 – National Soccer League Champions

  • 2005 – SA Super League Premiers

  • 2006 – SA Super League Premiers

  • 2007 – SA Super League Premiers

  • 2008 – SA Super League Premiers and Champions

  • 2010 – SA Super League Champions


Notable former players


  • Bobby Russell

  • Sergio Melta

  • Milan Ivanovic

  • Damian Mori

  • Alex Tobin

  • Dixie Deans

  • David Mitchell


Qualification Highlights







Back to Clubs

Metrostars vs Adelaide City

21 April, 2014

Adelaide City vs West Adelaide

31 May, 2014

bottom of page