top of page

Sydney Olympic FC



Twitter:     @sydneyolympic



The history of Sydney Olympic spans five decades, beginning with the birth of the Pan-Hellenic Soccer Club in 1957.


In 1977 the club became a founding member of the National Soccer League, and also changed its name to Sydney Olympic. But two years later it was back in the NSW First Division. The league had decided to cut back on teams from NSW and having finished second last on the ladder beating only South Melbourne, Sydney Olympic was relegated.


The spell back in the NSW First Division competition did not last long, with Sydney Olympic defeating the Parramatta Eagles 4–0 in the 1980 grand final to win the NSW First Division. That victory secured Sydney Olympic a return to top-flight Australian football in 1981 where it remained until the NSL folded in 2004.


From 1982 to 1992, Olympic finished in the top half on the league ladder for every season. This ten year period included winning two NSL Cups, in 1983 over Heildelberg and in 1985 over Preston.


The season following on from Olympic's Grand Final loss to Marconi in 1989 saw the two teams meet again in the Championship decider. This time, Sydney Olympic had its moment of glory. On May 20, 1990, the Blues defeated Marconi 2-0. The two goal scorers on the day for Sydney Olympic were Alistair Edwards in the first half with Robert Ironside securing the season 1989/90 Championship with a goal in the second period.


In 2001/02 the Club relocated itself to the Sutherland Shire in Sydney's south, playing out of Toyota Park.  The move also involved a change of name from Sydney Olympic to 'Olympic Sharks' with the traditional blue and white colours of the Club still in place.


The move proved successful in its first year as a combination of on and off field successes led to Olympic capturing its second championship in 12 years when they defeated Perth Glory at Subiaco Oval in front of 42,000 fans.


In its second year at Toyota Park, the Olympic Sharks managed to snare its first ever Premiership by finishing on top of the NSL ladder.


Despite the on field successes, the move to the Sutherland Shire was short lived. The poor attendances took its toll on the venture. For season 2003/2004 the club chose to revert to the widely preferred name of Sydney Olympic and moving to OKI Jubilee Stadium at Kogarah.


Following the demise of the NSL in 20014, Sydney Olympic has participated in the NSW Premier League, until 2013 when the National Premier Leagues was introduced.

Qualification Route


Sydney Olympic qualified for the 2014 FFA Cup by reaching the Semi Final of New South Wales' Waratah Cup.  They defeated Sydney United 58 in the playoff game 4-2.


In reaching the FFA Cup Round of 32, Olympic defeated Central Coast Mariners Academy 3-2 in penalties, after a 1-1 draw, St George FC 6-0 and Sydney United 58 4-2.  


New South Wales' FFA Cup Qualification Pathway


Club Honours


  • 1980 – NSW 1st Division Champions

  • 1983 – NSL Cup Winners

  • 1985 – NSL Cup Winners

  • 1989/90 – NSL Champions

  • 2001/02 – NSL Champions

  • 2002/03 – NSL Premiers

  • 2011 – NSW Premier League Champions



Notable former players


  • Nick Carle

  • Jason Culina

  • Brett Emerton

  • Chris Kalantzis

  • Ned Zelic

  • Milan Blagojevic

  • Peter Katholos

  • Jason Polak

  • Peter Raskopoulos

  • Gabriel Mendez

  • Terry Patalis

  • Mark Koussas

  • Alistar Edwards

  • Abaas Saad

  • Giannis Haniotis

  • Marshall Soper

  • Kresemir Marusic

  • Jim Patikas

  • Mehmet Durakovic

  • Ante Juric


Qualification Highlights







  • Zlatko Arambasic

  • Mark Bosnich

  • Dimi Petratos

  • Clint Bolton

  • Dylan Macallister

  • Jade North

  • Andrew Packer

  • Andrew Durante

  • Glen Moss

  • Zenon Caravella

  • Labinot Haliti

  • Ante Milicic

  • Iain Fyfe

  • Pedj Bojić

  • Michael Baird

  • Michael Beauchamp

  • Tarek Elrich

Back to Clubs


Sydney Olympic vs Sydney United 58

Manly United vs Northern Tigers

Parramatta FC vs South Coast Wolves

Hakoah Sydney City vs Blacktown City

21-22 May, 2014

bottom of page