top of page

South Cardiff FC



Twitter:     @SouthCardiffFc



South Cardiff football Club is based in Cardiff South, a suburb of Newcastle, New South Wales. They are known as “The Gunners” after the nickname of London club Arsenal.


The club was established in 1989 and currently competes in the National Premier Leagues Northern NSW.


South Cardiff currently has a number of former Newcastle United NSL players in its ranks, including skipper Jarryd Johnson, Mitch Wallace and Chris Gazzard.

Qualification Route


South Cardiff FC qualified for the 2014 FFA Cup by reaching the Final of the NNSW State Cup.


In reaching the FFA Cup Round of 32, the Gunners defeated Maitland FC in a penalty shootout after a 1-1 draw, Hamilton Olympic 1-0, Weston Workers Bears 3-2, Urunga FC 5-2 and Cooks Hill United 3-1.


Northern NSW's FFA Cup Qualification Pathway


Club Honours


  • 2011 - State Cup Winners



Notable former players


  • Esala Masi

Back to Clubs

bottom of page