top of page

Sydney United 58 FC



Twitter:     @SydUtd58FC



Sydney United 58 Football Club is based in Edensor Park, Sydney, and currently plays in the National Premier Leagues NSW. The club was formed as Sydney Croatia in 1957, by Croatian Australians in the area, but it was renamed in 1993 as Sydney United after having the name Sydney CSC for a season.


For the seasons of 1964 and 1965 a part of the name changed (from Croatia to Metropolitan Adriatic), reverting to Croatia in 1966. However, this was not the last name change; the club changed their name again to South Sydney Croatia, since they resided in the South Sydney area with the local Croatian club at Surry Hills.


After a few lean seasons during the late 1960s and early 1970s, United won their first NSW Premiership in 1977 with Luka Fabijinic as coach and Atti Aboyni as the team's striker.


In 1980, the club purchased a block of land in West Sydney to call their new home, now known as the Sydney United Sports Centre at Edensor Park. Sydney United won Premierships in 1981 and 1982 the Championship in 1982 and 1983.


After a National League shake-up in 1984, Sydney United were accepted into the National Soccer League under that name.  In 1985 and 1986 Sydney United saw success, winning the Northern NSL Division crown over powerhouse clubs such as Sydney Olympic, Marconi, and Sydney City. However, in the preliminary final they lost to Sydney Olympic. 1987 saw a successful cup season, winning the Beach Fashions Cup, with a 2–0 aggregate victory over South Melbourne (with United strikers Robbie Slater and Graham Arnold scoring).


After finishing second in the normal season in 1988 Sydney United made its first NSL Grand Final, eventually losing in a penalty shootout to Marconi.


Two more name changes, first to Sydney C.S.C. (Croatian Soccer Club) in 1992 and then to Sydney United, and the move from a winter league in Australia to a summer league saw a few lean seasons for the club during the early 1990s. During the 1996–97 season, United won another Premiership and made its second Grand Final (this time in Brisbane). In front of an Australian football record crowd of 44,000, United lost 2–0 to Farina's Brisbane Strikers.


United won its third NSL Premiership during the 1998–1999 season. Led by former St. Albans Dinamo defender Velimir Kupresak and talent from the youth league (such as Jacob Burns, Joel Griffiths and Mile Sterjovski), United reached the NSL Grand Final for the second time. However, in Melbourne against South Melbourne, United lost 3–2 (with goals by Mile Sterjovski and Danny Townsend) in front of 15,000 fans.


With the demise of the NSL, the club once again played in the New South Wales Premier League.  In 2006 United started slowly, but finished third. During the top-four NSW Premier League final series, United defeated Blacktown City Demons 4–0 in the 2006 Grand Final; Luka Glavas scored all four goals.


United has since won the NSW Premier League Premiership in 2009, followed by winning the inaugural National Premier Leagues NSW Premiership in 2013.  They then went on to win the National Premier League Finals.

Qualification Route


Sydney United qualified for the 2014 FFA Cup as one of seven entrants from NSW, defeating Parramatta FC 1-0 in the playoff game.


In reaching the FFA Cup Round of 32, Sydney United defeated Spirit FC 4-0, Fraser Park 8-1, lost to Sydney Olympic 4-2, before defeating Parramatta FC 1-0.


New South Wales' FFA Cup Qualification Pathway



Club Honours


  • 1977 – NSW State League Champions and Premiers

  • 1978 – NSW State League Premiers

  • 1979 – NSW State League Premiers

  • 1981 – NSW State League Premiers

  • 1982 – NSW State League Champions and Premiers

  • 1983 – NSW State League Champions

  • 1986 – NSL Premiers (Northern Division), Ampol Cup Winners

  • 1987 – NSL Cup Winners, Ampol Cup Winners

  • 1996/97 – NSL Premiers

  • 1998/99 – NSL Premiers

  • 2005 – Continental Cup Winners

  • 2006 – NSW State League Champions

  • 2009 – NSW State League Premiers

  • 2013 – NPL NSW Premiers, NPL Champions



Notable former players


  • Attila Abonyi

  • Zlatko Arambasic

  • Walter Ardone

  • Graham Arnold

  • Francis Awaritefe

  • Mark Babic

  • Zeljko Babic

  • Paul Bilokapic

  • Mark Bosnich

  • Ken Boden

  • Jacob Burns

  • Tim Cahill

  • Pablo Cardozo

  • Paul Carter

  • Jason Culina

  • Ron Corry

  • John Davies

  • John Doyle

  • Robert Enes

  • Craig Foster          

  • Tony Franken

  • Aytek Genc

  • Mike Gibson

  • Ron Giles

  • Mike Grbevski

  • Joel Griffiths

  • Troy Halpin

  • Robert Hooker

  • Alan Hunter

  • Mile Jedinak

  • Graham Jennings

  • Ante Juric

  • Zeljko Kalac

  • Eddy Krncevic

  • Tony Krslovic

  • Gabriel Mendez

  • Ante Milicic

  • David Mitchell

  • Ante Moric

  • Zarko Odzakov

  • Jim Patikas


Qualification Highlights







  • Tom Pondeljak

  • Tony Popovic

  • Ray Richards

  • Bobby Russell

  • John Russell

  • Abbas Saad

  • Wally Savor

  • Nigel Shepherd

  • Hilton Silva

  • Robbie Slater

  • Mile Sterjovski

  • Peter Stone

  • Max Tolson

  • Brian Turner

  • Robert Trajkovski

  • Billy Vojtek

  • Greg Woodhouse

  • Brett Woods

  • Denis Yaager

  • Ned Zelic

  • David Zdrilic

  • Aljosa Asanovic

  • Akwesi Agei (also known as Hajji)

  • Freddy Graham

  • David Taylor

  • Manis Lamond

  • Stuart Munro

  • Commins Menapi

  • Liam Reddy

Back to Clubs


Sydney Olympic vs Sydney United 58

Manly United vs Northern Tigers

Parramatta FC vs South Coast Wolves

Hakoah Sydney City vs Blacktown City

21-22 May, 2014


Sydney United 58 vs Parramatta FC

Hakoah Sydney City vs Northern Tigers

4 June, 2014

bottom of page