top of page

Brisbane Strikers FC



Twitter:     @BneStrikers



The Brisbane Strikers commenced their existence in 1994 in Australia’s then premier club competition, the National Soccer League, emerging from the demise of Brisbane United, who had been Queensland’s representative in the NSL for the previous two seasons.


In the 1996/97 season the Strikers were led by player-coach Frank Farina and finished second on the NSL ladder to Sydney United before going on to beat United in their semi-final to set up a home grand final – against the same team.   The 1997 Grand Final, played at Lang Park in Brisbane, drew a capacity 40,446 spectators to watch the Brisbane Strikers beat Sydney United 2-0 with goals by Farina and Rod Brown.


When Strikers lost the race to be awarded Queensland’s sole licence in the A-League to the Queensland Lions (who eventually entered the A-League with a team named the Queensland Roar), Brisbane Strikers joined forces with local Brisbane club North Star to field a team in the Brisbane Premier League.  Strikers played in the BPL for four years, before moving into the newly formed Queensland State League.


In 2013 the QSL was replaced with the National Premier Leagues in Queensland, and Strikers remain in the NPL today.

Qualification Route


Brisbane Strikers qualified for the 2014 FFA Cup by reaching the Final of Brisbane's Canale Cup, which also doubled as the pathway to the Football Queensland Cup Semi Finals.


In reaching the FFA Cup Round of 32, Strikers defeated Capalaba (BPL) 5-0, Ipswich Knights (BPL) 7-1 and Lions FC (BPL) 3-2.  In the playoff game against Lions FC, local favourite Matt Thurtell scored a first half hat-trick to ensure Strikers' return to the national stage.


Queensland's FFA Cup Qualification Pathway


Club Honours


  • 1996/97 - National Soccer League Champions

  • 2006 - Brisbane Premier League Premiers and Champions

  • 2009 - Queensland State League Premiers

  • 2012 - Queensland State League Premiers


Notable former players


  • Clint Bolton

  • Nathan Coe

  • Frank Farina

  • Danny Invincible

  • Josh McCloughan

  • Matt McKay

  • Jade North

  • Wayne Srhoj

  • Joshua Rose

  • Andrew Packer


Qualification Highlights









  • Kasey Wehrman

  • Jon McKain

  • Adam Sarota

  • Shane Stefanutto

  • Michael Zullo

  • Shane Smeltz

  • Fernando Rech

  • Gol-Gol Mebrahtu

  • Matt Smith

  • Stuart McLaren



Queensland Round 6

Brisbane Strikers vs Ipswich Knights

14 May, 2014

Queensland Playoff

Brisbane Strikers vs Lions FC

28 May, 2014

Back to Clubs

bottom of page