top of page

How the FFA Cup works

The FFA Cup is a national knockout tournament run by FFA in conjunction with the State and Territory Member Federations in Queensland, NSW, Northern NSW, Victoria, ACT, Tasmania, South Australia, Western Australia and Northern Territory.


Over 600 clubs play in the feeder competitions run by the states and territories.  The Hyundai A-League clubs join the competition in the Round of 32, alongside 22 clubs who have progressed from the ranks of the semi-professional and amateur tiers.


The final allocation for the Round of 32 comprises:


  • 10 Hyundai A-League clubs

  • 22 Member Federation Clubs comprising:

    • - Football NSW - 5 clubs from the Waratah Cup

    • - Football Federation Victoria - 4 clubs from the Dockerty Cup

    • - Football Queensland - 4 clubs from the FQ Cup

    • - Football West - 2 clubs from the Cool Ridge Cup

    • - NNSW Football - 2 clubs from the NNSW Cup

    • - Capital Football - 1 club from the Federation Cup

    • - Football Federation SA - 1 club from the Coca Cola Federation Cup

    • - Football Federation Tasmania - 1 club from the Milan Lakoseljac Memorial Trophy

    • - Football Northern Territory - 1 club from the State Cup

    • - National Premier Leagues - the 2014 NPL Champions



The final 32 clubs will come together for the FFA Cup proper starting in July, with the Grand Final later in the year.


The format for the 2014 FFA Cup proper is set out below.  The structure of the 2015 competition is yet to be released.

bottom of page