top of page

Tuggeranong United FC



Twitter:     @tufc_tuggies



The history of Tuggeranong United Football Club dates back to 1977, when Kambah United Soccer Club was formed. It catered for both junior and senior players in the local district, with the seniors fielding teams in the first division. The following year, the Wanniassa Soccer Club was formed, catering for junior players from Wanniassa and its environs. In 1985, Wanniassa Soccer Club changed its name to Tuggeranong Soccer Club and in 1986, Kambah United combined with Tuggeranong Soccer Club to form Tuggeranong United Soccer Club.


In 1989 Tuggeranong won its first major trophy, the Federation Cup – a knock out competition run in conjunction with the entire league, involving teams from across the top divisions.


With a dedicated Executive Committee, and newfound strength, the club moved ahead strongly and won back to back premierships in 1991 and 1992. These achievements were followed by the club winning the Federation Cup again in 1993 and 1994, and narrowly losing the final in 1995. The club was brought back to earth soon after with disappointing results in 1996 and 1997 resulting in its Premier League teams being relegated back to the newly renamed Premier League 2 division for the 1998 season.


In 1999 the club recovered some key players and won the Grand Final in what was then called the State League 1. The win enabled the club to be promoted back into the Premier League. In 2000 the club were runners up in the Federation Cup Grand Final.


In the subsequent 4 years the club maintained a good player base and made the top 4 twice. In 2005 the club lost momentum and finished bottom of the Premier League and were relegated into Division 1.


In 2006 the club again picked up and moved forward, attracting a new coach a several players. They progressed to the Grand Final of the Division 1, however were beaten in extra-time.


Tuggeranong now compete in the ACT National Premier Leagues.

Qualification Route


The timing of the ACT's knockout competition means that the winner in 2014 would not be known in time for the FFA Cup, so the decision was made that the 2013 winners would represent ACT in the 2014 FFA Cup.


The eight Premier League clubs were seeded and entered at a later round.  Tuggeranong United won four games to win the Cup, and Capital Football's one allocated spot in the FFA Cup.


In reaching the FFA Cup Round of 32, Tuggeranong defeated Narrabundah 8-0, Canberra Olympic 3-1, Woden Valley 3-2 in a penalty shootout after the game finished 0-0, and Cooma SC 3-2.


ACT’s FFA Cup Qualification Pathway


Club Honours


  • 1989 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 1991 – ACT Premier League Premiers

  • 1992 – ACT Premier League Premiers

  • 1993 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 1994 – Federation Cup Winners

  • 2013 – Federation Cup Winners


Notable former players


  • Tom Rogic

  • Carl Valeri

  • Nikolai Topor-Stanley


Qualification Highlights







Back to Clubs

Tuggeranong United v Cooma Tigers

28 August, 2013

bottom of page