top of page

Broadmeadow Magic FC



Twitter:     @BMagicFC



Broadmeadow Magic FC was founded on 9 April 1966 by Macedonian Australians as Newcastle Macedonia FC. Originally formed as a social club to play football together with other Macedonians, it is now a major force in Northern News South Wales' National Premier Leagues.


Throughout the years, Broadmeadow have gone through a series of name changes. The club was known as Broadmeadow United from 1971 until 1974 and then enjoyed a period of success in the 1970s as Hamilton Red Star. In 1975, Red Star was promoted to the NSW Football Federation 4th division, the 3rd division in 1976, the 2nd division in 1978 and finally the 1st Division in 1980. By 1985, Red Star was relegated back to the 2nd division, and had reverted to its original name, Newcastle Macedonia. During 10 years of competing in the 2nd division, Newcastle Macedonia won the league title twice.


In 1995, Newcastle Macedonia was finally promoted back to the highest flight in New South Wales, the NBN State Football League. It was at this time that the club made its final name change to its current, Broadmeadow Magic FC.


Since the clubs promotion to the top flight in 1995, the crowing achievement of the club has to be the development of the Magic Park complex.  It has long been Broadmeadow Magic's dream to play on their own field and after so many years moving around Newcastle, in the year 2000, development had progressed enough for the club to start playing their first games at 'home'.

Qualification Route


Broadmeadow Magic qualified for the 2014 FFA Cup by reaching the Final of the Northern NSW State Cup, where they ended up defeating South Cardiff on penalties to be the 2014 State Cup Champions.


In reaching the FFA Cup Round of 32, Magic defeated Thornton Redbacks (NewFM 1st Div) 9-1, Charlestown City Blues (NPL) 3-1, Edgeworth Eagles (NPL) 2-0, Lismore Workers (Far North Coast Premier League) 5-1 and Boambee Bombers (North Coast Premier League) 5-1.


Northern NSW's FFA Cup Qualification Pathway


Club Honours


  • 1997 - State Football League Premiers

  • 2001 - State Football League Premiers

  • 2002 - Premiers Cup Winner

  • 2003 - State Football League Premiers

  • 2004 - State Football League Champions

  • 2005 - State Football League Premiers and Champions

  • 2008 - State Football League Premiers and Champions, Premiers Cup Winner

  • 2011 - State Football League Premiers and Champions

  • 2012 - State Football League Champions

  • 2013 - State Football League Premiers and Champions

  • 2014 - State Cup Winner

Notable former players


  • Ben Kantarovski

  • Ben Kennedy

  • Peter Haynes

  • Col Curren

  • Andrew Hoole

  • Josh Mitchell

  • Peter Haynes

  • Beau Busch

Back to Clubs

bottom of page