top of page

Blacktown City FC



Twitter:     @BlacktownCityFC



Blacktown City FC is based in Blacktown, New South Wales and was formed in 1953 as Toongabbie Soccer Club.  In 1979 the club changed its name to Blacktown City, and competed in the National Soccer League in 1980, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1989 and 1990. Since then they have competed in the highest level in New South Wales, the NSW Premier League, where they have finished Premiers (1st in the League) in 2001, 2002/03, 2004/05, 2006 and 2008.


The Blacktown City Demons took out the double in 2007 winning both the Premiership and then staging a miraculous comeback from 1-1 with ten men to defeat Bankstown City 3-1 and claim the Championship. The team was known as Blacktown City Demons and owned by The Demons Sports Club until 2009 when the club went into liquidation. The demon image was retained in the logo but dropped from the name.


The club now competes in the National Premiers Leagues NSW.

Qualification Route


Blacktown City qualified for the 2014 FFA Cup by reaching the Semi Finals of the Waratah Cup, defeating Hakoah Sydney City 2-1 in the playoff game.


In reaching the FFA Cup Round of 32, Blacktown City defeated Bankstown City 5-0, Marconi Stallions 2-0, and Hakoah Sydney City 2-1.


The playoff game saw Blacktown City come from behind to defeat a gallant Mens State League 1 outfit Hakoah Sydney City East 2-1 at Hensley Athletic Field.  Neil Jablonski put the home side in front with a well taken goal in the 16th minute but a minute later, sharpshooter Travis Major levelled the match.  Major was to be the hero as his 73rd minute goal proved to be the difference as the visitors completed a monumental victory sending the club to the FFA Cup. 


New South Wales' FFA Cup Qualification Pathway



Club Honours


  • 1985 – Ampol Cup Winners

  • 1991 – Waratah Cup Winners

  • 1993 – Waratah Cup Winners, NSW Super League Premiers

  • 1998 – NSW Super League Champions

  • 1999 – NSW Super League Champions

  • 2000 – NSW Super League Champions and Premiers

  • 2002/03 – NSW Premier League Premiers

  • 2006 – NSW Premier League Premiers

  • 2007 – NSW Premier League Champions and Premiers

  • 2010 – NSW Premier League Champions


Notable former players


  • Robbie Slater

  • Adam Kwasnik

  • Darren Stewart

  • Jason van Blerk

  • Gary van Egmond

  • Charlie Yankos

  • Adam Biddle

  • Scott Jamieson

  • Zlatko Arambasic

  • Chad Gibson

  • Paul Carter

  • Anthony Mazzone

  • John Gibson

  • Tyler Simpson

  • Joel Chianese

  • Sean Rooney

  • Mathew Ryan

  • Lawrie McKinna

  • Kevin Keegan


Qualification Highlights







Back to Clubs

Sydney Olympic vs Sydney United 58

Manly United vs Northern Tigers

Parramatta FC vs South Coast Wolves

Hakoah Sydney City vs Blacktown City

21-22 May, 2014

bottom of page